Beantown Saturday

After waking up early, I finally decided to get dressed about 7:30 AM and went downstairs for the Continental breakfast. There was a fancy automatic coffee dispenser – I chose the French Vanilla.  There was a lovely assortment of food and beverage items to eat in a nicely furnished breakfast nook/lounge area: yogurt, fruit cups, bagels or English muffins, boiled eggs, cold cereal, OJ or cranberry juice.

After breakfast I checked Google maps on where I’d need to end up mid-afternoon to meet Clare at the South Boston station, then packed up & left my bags in the coat room, and set off under a cloudy sky with misty, light rain. I started to regret not bringing an umbrella and wondering how my lightweight windbreaker would hold up, but I was fine. By mid-afternoon it was mostly sunny.

I strolled towards the Boston Public Garden, entering close to the statue of George Washington. The tulips were all in bloom in their beds, bright splashes of color against the green lawns. I crossed a bridge over a waterway and sheltered momentarily under the bare branches of a large tree to escape the scattered rain drops. There was a covered deck that in better weather would lead to rides on swan shaped boats. 

On my smartphone I located the attraction I wanted to see up close… “Make Way for Ducklings” is a series of bronze statues toward the northeast part of the Garden. They were wearing their Easter bonnets and young toddlers were walking around and trying to climb on top of mother duck.

I crossed over to the Bosom Commons – vendors were just starting to 9pen up their carts from rain protection. There were tributes to the Civil War, to the Puritans. The Massachusetts State House was actress the street, with an iron gate protecting it from public access.

I strolled down Beacon Street and around the corner. I had to stop at King’s Chapel – the original building was from the 1600 and the present one completed in 1754. The granite was mined in Massachusetts and was the first permanent stone structure. I explored the boxed pews, the windows, and thought a lot about my 8th great-grandfather, Abraham Pierson, who started out Church of England but fled to Boston Colony in 1639, getting himself ordained a Congregational minister (he wasn’t around for his heresy trial back in England in the spring of 1640).

For lunch I happened on a place called “King Falafel” which had a lot of tasty food, fast service and very reasonable prices. Coincidentally I sat next to a couple who were also bound for the Azores on the same flight tonight. They were from Charlottesville, Virginia and saw an offer on “Travel Zoo”. They’re coming back in a week, on the same flight we are, but are staying at a hotel in Ponte Delgado, whereas we’re booked at a B&B out of town.

After eating I found the Old Meeting House, and statues commemorating the Irish migrants to Boston during the mid-1800s because of the potatoes famine. To get to the South Boston train station I walked down Summer Street (which at one point changes names to Winter Street!).  Clare’s train was late, but cell phones make meeting in big cities a lot easier than it used to be.

Clare is the Millennial Generation and arranged for an Uber ride to get us 1.7 miles out to the to the Sephora Store. Then we walked back to my hotel, where we stored her luggage as well as mine, and re-charged phones while we waited for restaurants to open for dinner at 5:00 PM. After much discussion (I got teased for being a picky eater – I don’t like seafood, don’t like sushi) we ended up going back to the same restaurant, Apres du Midi, where we could again sit out on the sidewalk. They’re rated 4 stars and Clare ordered their specialty – roast duck. We walked back to the hotel to retrieve our luggage, she called another Uber to get us to the airport, and we were at the ticket counter by 6:45 PM.. plenty of time in advance of our 10:15 PM overnight flight.

Leave a Reply

