Where Americans Don’t Go

Mont Vernon is on the north side of Orient Beach. The condos I’m staying in have guests from France and French speaking Canada for the most part. I hear French all around me. On the beach, a darling little boy, about 3 , kept asking me something – I think he was wanting to show off, but I didn’t understand him. All I could reply was, “Je n’sais pas. Je ne parle francais.”

There are water sports available farther down the beach, and I could see para-sailing, and see and hear jet-skis. There are lots of bars, one mini-restaurant, volleyball. But I was happy at our end of the beach, quiet, relaxing. Mostly I can hear the waves rolling to shore, not motorized boats.  There are older retired couples here, and families with small children. The nude beach is way down  the other end of Orient Bay… but several women don’t sport tops to their swimsuits. Must be a French thing. I have no desire to expose my senior body to the sun, especially since my poor ghost legs are covered up to protect them from sunburn. My favored attire is gauzy cotton – cool, flowing and keeping my privates private.

wpid-20150210_150653.jpg

The colors of the condos where I ‘m staying are a delightful mixture of Caribbean pastels, with latticework on the balcony. It’s all very charming. There are occasional sailing ships crossing by the bay and I counted 10 masts from anchored sailboats between the island and mainland. I’m very much looking forward to a dinner cruise tonight, and a day cruise tomorrow – but those are both down at Simpson Beach.

I am so glad I’m not at one of the huge resort hotels, boasting gambling and adult entertainment, that seem to be around Phillipsburg and Simpson Beach – where cruise ships come in and close to the airport. Those seem run over with American tourists. I can see Americans in the U.S. – I’m here to experience island life. wpid-20150210_151815.jpg

Leave a Reply

